How do bouncy balls bounce?

Energy cannot be destroyed. So when you throw an item that doesn't bounce at the ground, the energy must be absorbed by the ground. If the object can be compressed, though, much of the energy is retained by the object, and the energy is redirected in the opposite direction, causing the bounce.