Why is hulk green?

Hulk was originally supposed to be a grey colour, but the machines that printed the comic couldn’t give a consistent grey shade so Lee changed hulk to green as the printer had no issue with green.

---

In the Hulk universe, gamma rays are green, and gamma rays are why Bruce Banner becomes the Hulk: they literally come out of his pores.