Who invented nail cutters?

The first United States patent for an improvement in a finger-nail clipper was filed in 1875 by Valentine Fogerty. Other subsequent patents for an improvement in finger-nail clippers are those in 1876 by William C. Edge, and in 1878 by John H. Hollman.