What is agrodulce?

Agrodolce is a little sweet, a little sour, and more versatile than any condiment in our arsenal. ... Italian agrodolce—a sticky, tart-sweet condiment made by reducing sugar or honey, vinegar, and sometimes fruit and/or vegetables—is all about tangy contrast