How do you know if a hard boiled egg is bad?

The most noticeable sign that a hard boiled egg has gone bad is the odor. If the hardboiled egg has any sort of unpleasant, sulfurous or rotten smell, it has gone bad and should not be consumed. If the hard boiled egg is still in its shell, you may have to crack it open in order to notice any odor.