Why isn't orange called an orange?

The word orange first described the fruit. Later it was used to describe the color. Chaucer in the 1390s, not having a word for orange described a fox as “color was betwixt yellow and red.” By 1590s Shakespeare knew the fruit but only used the color as orange-tawny, never just orange alone.