What is the king's indian defense?

The King's Indian Defence is a common chess opening. It arises after the moves: 1. d4 Nf6 2. c4 g6 Black intends to follow up with 3...Bg7 and 4...d6. White's major third move options are 3.Nc3, 3.Nf3 or 3.g3, with both the King's Indian and Grünfeld playable against these moves.