How do coffee joulies work?

Coffee Joulies' PCM (phase changing material) absorbs the excess thermal energy from the coffee through the breaking of its crystalline bonds, turning from a solid into a liquid while sealed inside the stainless steel shell. The PCM stays at a constant 60°C during this process.