Where does the saying just peachy come from?

The word peach has been used as a slang term referring to an especially likeable or attractive person since at least the 1700s. The phrase "peachy keen" meaning everything's great appeared around 1948. But "Just peachy" is a sarcastic way of saying the opposite, that you, or the situation, is awful.