Why did geena davis get an honorary oscar?

Geena Davis received an honorary Oscar for work against gender bias. ... Davis, who won a supporting actress Oscar in 1989 for “The Accidental Tourist,” said gender inequality on screen “can be fixed absolutely overnight.”