How do your eyes connected to your brain?

At the back of each eye is a retina, which detects light and turns it to electrical signals. Those go down the optic nerves behind the eyes to the center of the brain. The nerves hit the brain's switchboard, the thalamus. The visual signals are sent to the back of the brain where perception begins.