What is the red sun?

Red dwarf stars generate much less energy than a larger star like our Sun. In fact, a red dwarf emits 1/10,000th the energy. Red dwarfs use their hydrogen fuel slowly and so they last a very long time. It’s believed that a red dwarf star could survive for 10 trillion years.