Why do they call portland oregon stumptown?

Portland Oregon got the name stumptown during the mid 1800s when the town was growing so fast tree stumps were left everywhere because there was not enough manpower to remove them in a timely manner. In the 1850s it was said that Portland had more stumps than trees.