What is seven degrees of separation mean?

Via the lens provided on the world by Messenger, we find that there are about "seven degrees of separation" among people. ... A 'degree of separation' is a measure of social distance between people. You are one degree away from everyone you know, two degrees away from everyone they know, and so on.