What is a sniper rifle?

A sniper rifle is a high-precision rifle designed for extreme accuracy and chambered for a high-ballistic performance centerfire cartridge for the express purpose of hitting a target 1000 yards away.

---

The modern sniper rifle is a portable shoulder-fired weapon system with a choice between bolt-action or semi-automatic action, fitted with a telescopic sight for extreme accuracy and chambered for a high-ballistic performance centerfire cartridge.