When was the civil war civil war?

The war began when the Confederates bombarded Union soldiers at Fort Sumter, South Carolina on April 12, 1861. The war ended in Spring, 1865. Robert E. Lee surrendered the last major Confederate army to Ulysses S. Grant at Appomattox Courthouse on April 9, 1865.

---

The American Civil War began with the Confederate bombardment of Federal troops in Charleston, SC's Fort Sumter. The fighting ended upon the surrender of the armies of R.E. Lee & J. Johnston (April 9 and April 26, 1865). The rebellion was declared over by Pres. A. Johnston in August, 1866.