What does forty five caliber mean?

Caliber refers to the size of a bullet. The caliber of a bullet, is its diameter in inches, times 100. So, a 45 caliber bullet is a bullet that is 45 hundredths of an inch in diameter, just a little less than half an inch. A 22 caliber bullet, is then 22 hundredths of an inch in diameter.