How far is the sun from the earth?

93 million miles on average. Earth's orbit is shaped more like an oval. Earth moves sometimes closer to the sun and sometimes farther away from the sun. Earth's closest approach to the sun comes in January and is about 91M miles. Earth is farthest from the sun in July and is about 94.5M miles.