What is a for paper size?

ISO 216 defines A series paper sizes A-0 is 841mm x 1189mm. Each subsequent A, A-1, A-2, and so on is the previous A cut in half parallel to is shortest size. Most commonly used is A-4, 210mm x 297mm. In the USA the most common page size is 8-1/2 by 11 inches, A-4 is 8.27 by 11.7 inches.