What is rust on metal?

Rust is an iron oxide, a usually reddish-brown oxide formed by the reaction of iron and oxygen in the catalytic presence of water or air moisture

---

Rust on metal is a chemical process called oxidation which occurs when exposed metal and an electrolyte are left in contact with each other for prolonged periods of time allowing the electrons to flow from one material to the other. The electolyte can evoprate and return numerous times to the area.