Why do you kiss on the mistletoe?

The origins of kissing under the mistletoe, a plant that often bears white berries, are often traced to a tale in Norse mythology about the god Baldur. In many tellings, Frigg declares the mistletoe to be a symbol of love after her son's death and promises to kiss anyone who passed underneath it.