Can chickens float?

Live chickens will float as they are naturally buoyant when dry. However it is not a good idea to leave them in water as their feathers will become waterlogged at which point they can sink and are susceptible to hypothermia.

---

Chickens can swim, but they do not secrete the oil that ducks do to waterproof their feathers. So once a chicken's feathers become waterlogged, the chicken will sink.