How is new year's created?

The date was chosen in honor of Janus the Roman god of beginnings and the month's namesake. Though medieval Christians attempted to replace January 1 with more religiously significant dates Pope Gregory XIII created a revised calendar that officially established January 1 as New Year's Day in 1582