How big is mars compared to earth?

Mars, the fourth planet from the sun, is the second smallest planet in the solar system; only Mercury is smaller. Mars is about half (53 percent) the size of Earth, but because Mars is a desert planet, it has the same amount of dry land as Earth.

---

Mars has a diameter of 6,790km and Earth has a diameter of 12,750km placing mars just over half the size of Earth.