Can guinea pigs growl?

Cavies typically growl when they're frightened and feel like they have no way out of an uncertain situation. They often growl when they're on the verge of fierce behavior, like biting. ... If you ever notice your guinea pig growling or teeth grinding, give him some time to himself.