What was the great war for empire?

What was the great war for empire? In May 1756, Great Britain declared war on France. It began as a frontier skirmish and became a world war. Until the war's end in 1763, Great Britain waged war against France in Europe, in the Mediterranean Sea, in West Indies, in India, and in North America.