What is the purpose of smegma?

Smegma is a thick cheesy lubricant secreted by body glands to serve as a lubricant to keep genital area tissues from sticking together. Smegma should be washed away daily to prevent a buildup which will turn septic is a few days negating any benefit to the body. Men and women may have smegma.