What are the components of a bell?

The most basic bell is created of the headstock, the soundbow, and the clapper. The headstock suspends the soundboard, allowing it to swing or vibrate freely when struck by the clapper. The clapper can be internal, as in a church bell or jingle bell, or external, as in a Shinto temple bell.