Who was the real long ranger?

Bass Reeves was a real-life African-American cowboy who one historian has proposed may have inspired the Lone Ranger. Reeves was born a slave in the Arkansas household of William S. Reeves, who relocated to Paris, Texas, in 1846. Clayton Moore portrayed the Lone Ranger on the television show.