What's the difference between a regular lime and a key lime?

Key limes are smaller and seedier than standard Persian limes, with thinner and yellower rinds. Key limes are more acidic and have a different flavor profile than standard limes; substituting other lime or lime juice varieties in recipes that specifically call for key lime is not recommended.