What type of fractions are there?

Proper fractions have numerators that are smaller than their denominators. Improper fractions have denominators larger than their numerators. Complex fractions include a fraction inside of a fraction. A mixed number, which is a whole number paired with a fraction, may be called a mixed fraction.