What's the difference between a green onion and a white onion?

Green onions are immature onions which do not have large bulbs--they are very mild, and you eat the entire onion as well as the green leaves. White onions usually have larger bulbs and no green leaves. They taste sharper and are good for slicing or flavoring foods.

---

Green onions (also known as scallions) are long and thin, typically no wider than a finger, and are bright white at the bottom with dark green tops. They taste different than all-white onions as they're mild, and not very pungent. White onions are fully grown & pungent.