Where does the expression for pete's sake come from?

"For Pete's sake" originated as a substitute for "for Christ's sake”. According to the Oxford English Dictionary, it came into use more than a century ago. Pete may reference Saint Peter, or the name Pete may be used because it sounds like pity, as in the expression “for pity’s sake”.