Why was the cold war named the cold war?

The term was penned in 1945 by George Orwell describing a stalemate between nuclear type super-powers. It was used in 1947 by presidential advisor Bernard Baruch to describe a war where the combatants were not fighting each other directly but though propaganda and intermediaries.