Where did the name hell's kitchen come from?

Several explanations exist for the original name. It first appeared in print on September 22, 1881 when a New York Times reporter went to the West 30s. He referred to a particularly infamous tenement at 39th Street and Tenth Avenue as "Hell's Kitchen." Nobody really knows where the name comes from.