When was the first time the american flag was flown?

American flag flies in battle Sept. 3, 1777. On this day in 1777, an American flag flew in battle for the first time. This occurred during a Revolutionary War skirmish at Cooch's Bridge, Del.

---

The American Flag flies for the first time on September 3, 1777.