What does fifty one fifty mean?

Fifty one fifty is also known as a psychiatric hold. The law allows for holding a person for up to 72 hours if they are deemed to be a danger to themselves or others. If held, a person would be evaluated to determine if further care is warranted

---

It is widely used as an abbreviation referring to a unstable individual.