Is there alcohol in white wine vinegar?

There are traces of alcohol in vinegar but a very small amount. Wine vinegars such as red or white wine and balsamic vinegar do start with a dilute wine which is then fermented. ... Consequently, using a tablespoon of white wine vinegar might have a drop of alcohol in it.