Does velveeta need to be refrigerated?

Unlike most cheeses, you don't need to refrigerate an unopened package of Velveeta. It's shelf-stable, and that's why you can find it in the supermarket on the shelves and not in the fridges. After opening the package, make sure you refrigerate the cheese and wrap it properly each time.