How do you harvest pine nuts?

Pine nuts are very difficult to harvest. The cones are collected before they fall--they are then dried in a burlap sack to dry all the parts of the cones and make the nuts easier to get. Then they are smashed apart and the pine nuts are collected, and the SECOND shell around them is removed.