How did the iron bowl get its name?

The Iron Bowl is the name given to the Alabama vs Auburn college football rivalry. Auburn Coach Ralph "Shug" Jordan was asked by reporters in 1964 about not taking his team to a bowl game, he responded, "We've got our bowl game. We have it every year. It's the Iron Bowl in Birmingham.