How loud is a firecracker?

According to the American Speech-Language Hearing Association (ASHA), a firecracker produces 150 decibels of sound, about the same as a shotgun. Of course, the impact to your ears is less the farther you are from the source. At close range repeated exposure could cause damage to your hearing.