Is naomi osaka an american?

Naomi Osaka was born in Japan and grew up in the United States as a dual citizen of Japan and the U.S.. According to Japanese law, dual citizens must renounce one nationality by age 22, and Osaka chose to keep her Japanese citizenship and renounce her American citizenship.