How do you know the squash is bad?

If it is mushy and soft, it's too ripe, or spoiling. Squash lasts a very long time, however.

---

Winter squash will begin to get soft and then begin to leak liquid when they are going bad. They may also begin to mold, at which point they have gone bad and you will want to throw them out.