What is cognitive dissidence?

Cognitive dissonance, is a psychological term, describing the uncomfortable tension that may result from having two conflicting thoughts at the same time, or from engaging in behavior that conflicts with one's beliefs, or from experiencing apparently conflicting phenomena.