What is indian curry?

In India, curry is a variety of dishes that use a complex combination of spices or herbs, usually including ground turmeric, cumin, coriander, ginger, and fresh or dried chilies, and they may contain fish, meat, poultry, or shellfish, either alone or in combination with vegetables.