Is sixteen grams of sugar a lot?

For one serving, yes, 16 grams of sugar is a lot. Considering the American Heart Association recommendation of no more than 25 g added sugar per day for men, that's 64% of your daily allowance in a single drink or dish. More for women. Much more for children.