Is thirty grams of sugar a lot?

Yes. The recommended daily allowance of added sugar for a full-grown man is only 36 grams.

---

It's less than the amount in a serving of many sugary soft drinks, but to put in perspective, 30 grams is equivalent to about 2 tablespoons, or six to seven teaspoons, of regular white table sugar.