What is a skunk related to?

Skunks, in the order Carnivora, were classified until fairly recently as part of the family Mustelidae, which includes weasels, badgers, martins, otters, and wolverines. Genetic data, however, suggest placement of skunks in their own family, Mephitidae (mephitis being Latin for “bad odour”).