Why did the saber toothed tiger go extinct?

Saber tooth tiger mainly hunted ground sloths, deer and bison which were at the verge of extinction at the end of last ice age due to climate change. This decrease in food supply has been suggested as one of the major cause of extinction of sabe tooth tiger.